環繞香港的島嶼為香港人提供了許多戶外的活動。而大嶼山是香港人戶外活動的首選之一。談到大嶼山,通常人們想到的是行山,游泳和釣魚。可能你不知道在大嶼山附近一個秘密的地方-沙螺灣-你有機會拍攝到飛機起飛。

1998年前,香港的啓德機場因為他與眾不同的飛機起降而成為廣大攝影愛好者的目標。啓德機場位於香港市區內,機場外圍就已經是九龍城的鬧市區。機場三面環山,最近的山離跑道只有5公里。機場的南面是維多利亞港。只有一條跑到伸入維多利亞港。

UPS在沙螺灣碼頭附近起飛

UPS在沙螺灣碼頭附近起飛

從沙螺灣看飛機起飛

從沙螺灣看飛機起飛

這樣的地理環境使啓德機場的飛機升降極具挑戰性,並加上山多風向多變,是啓德機場號稱”世界十大危險機場”之一。攝影愛好者用相片記錄了啓德機場許多歷史性的一刻。由於各種原因,啓德機場在服務了73年之後於1998年關閉。

從此之後,想拍到一張特別的飛機起降的照片變得比較困難。尤其是現在的赤鱲角機場,周圍再沒有摩天大廈讓你找個景點可以拍攝進港的飛機。如果你是一個喜歡行山的人,你也想找到一個機會拍攝從香港國際機場起降的飛機,以下的信息可能對你有用。

港龍航班在沙螺灣附近起飛

港龍航班在沙螺灣附近起飛

在沙螺灣碼頭,你就有這樣的機會。沙螺灣碼頭就在南面跑道旁邊,只有一條通道將機場和大嶼山隔開。在碼頭附近,你很容易找到很好的拍攝地點。一處就直接在碼頭上。由於碼頭一般只有香港本地人知道,不會有熙熙攘攘的遊客,平時就只有幾個人悠閒的在碼頭上釣魚。另外一處是裡碼頭幾分鐘路程的小山丘。沿著碼頭走大約一分鐘然後向右轉,向山上爬一段路,你就可以找到一個絕佳的拍攝飛機起降的位置。很明顯,你爬得越高,就越可以找到更好的角度。

沙螺灣碼頭一角

沙螺灣碼頭一角

沙螺灣碼頭一角

沙螺灣碼頭一角

沙螺灣碼頭小路

沙螺灣碼頭小路

從沙螺灣碼頭拍到新加坡航空A380

從沙螺灣碼頭拍到新加坡航空A380

最好的拍攝時間應該是早上(尤其是在夏季)。下午的香港海港,天空常常會變得有些朦朧。即使天氣變得不如人意,在碼頭上停留幾分鐘也仍然不是一個壞的選擇。也許你會像我們一樣有運氣,拍到一架最新的空中巴士A380.

一些重要的建議:

出發之前,記得準備足夠的水和食物。那裡是純粹的大自然,碼頭和碼頭附近都沒有餐館,小店,自動販賣機和洗手間。同時記得擦防曬油,最好帶上遮陽傘或者帽子。碼頭上沒有甚麼遮擋,天氣可能變得很熱又或者突然下雨。如果你準備一點蚊怕水,就更好的。畢竟野外蚊蟲會多。

沙螺灣碼頭上的燈塔

沙螺灣碼頭上的燈塔

如何前往沙螺灣:

從機場出發:

你可以搭乘巴士S1,S52P和S64,在東涌或者東薈城下車。車程大約10分鐘。或者你可以選擇乘搭的士。

從尖沙咀出發:

乘坐地鐵紅色的荃灣線往荃灣方向,經過9個車站之後在荔景站轉乘桔紅色(橙色)的東涌線直至終點站東涌(3站路)。在東涌站C出口出閘。車程大約38分鐘,全程票價為港幣15.5元。

從中環出發:

如果你身處地鐵中環站,你可以直接走到香港站。然後乘搭桔紅色(橙色)的東涌線直至終點站東涌。在東涌站C出口出閘。車程大約29分鐘,全程票價為港幣21元。

來往沙螺灣的富裕小輪輪渡入口

來往沙螺灣的富裕小輪輪渡入口

富裕小輪

富裕小輪

當你抵達東涌地鐵站後,向東涌碼頭方向走大約10分鐘(先向昂坪纜車站走,之後路上一路都會有標識。中途需要經過一個人行天橋過馬路)。接下來你有兩個選擇去沙螺灣,或者乘坐”富裕小輪”公司的輪渡或者乘坐私人水上的士。但是我們建議你乘坐”富裕小輪”,因為小輪只需要10分鐘就可以抵達沙螺灣。船票為週一至週六每程港幣25元,周日和節日為港幣30元。你可以用現金或者八達通直接在船上付款。

富裕小輪時間表

富裕小輪時間表

富裕小輪輪渡內景

富裕小輪輪渡內景

富裕小輪輪渡內景

富裕小輪輪渡內景

By |May 18th, 2011|

Leave A Comment

Hong Kong’s surrounding islands offer a wide range of outdoor activities. The first thoughts coming into one’s mind when talking about the beautiful Lantau Island are hiking, swimming and fishing. Rarely anyone would think about an activity such as plane spotting at Sha Lo Wan Pier.

UPS taking off at Sha Lo Wan Pier

UPS Taking off at Sha Lo Wan Pier

Plane and Sha Lo Wan Pier

Plane and Sha Lo Wan Pier

Until 1998, Hong Kong had been famous for its Kai Tak Airport and its dramatic landings. Landing at this airport had been very demanding to the pilots and due to its location (high rising skyscrapers, mountains and only one runway towards Victoria Harbor) built up a myth among travelers and resulted in stories to share with the following generations (…”did you hear that the Kai Tak Airport is one of the most dangerous in the world”). Photographers capturing the dramatic arrivals and landings added to the myth and image of Hong Kong aviation history. In the matter of fact, one of the most sold images of Hong Kong is an approaching airplane at the old Kai Tak Airport. The Kai Tak Airport closed down after 73 years of operation in 1998.

Sidebar Banner 14 Export
Dragon Air Plane at Sha Lo Wan Pier

Dragon Air Plane at Sha Lo Wan Pier

Taking interesting and dramatic pictures of arriving planes got a little bit more difficult with the new Chek Lap Kok Airport. No high rising skyscrapers and hard to find spots to take photos of arriving planes. Nonetheless it seems there are still a number of plane spotting enthusiasts in Hong Kong. If you are interesting in hiking and would like to get a good chance to capture some starting planes from the Hong Kong International Airport this following article might be for you:

The View at Sha Lo Wan Pier

The View at Sha Lo Wan Pier

The View at Sha Lo Wan Pier

The View at Sha Lo Wan Pier

Walking from the Sha Lo Wan Pier

Walking from the Sha Lo Wan Pier

At Sha Lo Wan Pier you have a great opportunity to spot planes taking off as well as landing. The pier is located right across the south-runway. Only a small channel divides the airport and Lantau Island. There are several good spots on or close by the pier. One spot is directly on the pier. The pier is usually not crowded at all. Just a few people are relaxing and fishing there. Another spot is just a few minutes away. Walk along the path from the pier. After a minute turn right and walk the path uphill. You will have a good chance to take some great pictures. The further you climb uphill, the better the view and chance to take unique pictures.

A380 of Singapore Airlines at Sha Lo Wan Pier

A380 of Singapore Airlines at Sha Lo Wan Pier

The best time to take pictures is probably in the morning hours (especially in summer). In the afternoon, the view often gets hazy…but you maybe have some good luck. Even if the weather does not turn out like you wish, it is not bad to stay for a few more minutes. May be you can catch one of the new A380 Airbus like we did.

Some important piece of advice:

Before arriving at the pier make sure that you have plenty of water as well as food with you. There are no restaurants, vending machines and washrooms at the pier. It is pure nature. In addition, it is a good idea not only to take enough sun-lotion with you, but also an umbrella or hat. There is not much shade and it can be very hot and humid there. Make also sure to take some mosquito repellants with you.

Lighthouse on the Sha Lo Wan Pier

Lighthouse on the Sha Lo Wan Pier

How to Get to Sha Lo Wan Pier:

From the Airport:

Take one of the following buses S1, S52P and S64 which will take you to Tung Chung and the Citygate Outlet Shopping Mall. It just takes about 10 minutes. Alternatively, you can jump in one of the cabs at the airport.

From TST:

Take the red MTR Tsuen Wan Line towards Tsuen Wan. Take nine stations and exchange Lai King Station to the orange Tung Chung Line. Stay to the end of the Tung Chung Line (3 stations). Exit the MTR station at Tung Chung through exit C. Approx. travel time is 38 minutes and the fare for a single ticket is HK $ 15.5.

From Central:

If you start in the MTR Central station walk towards the Hong Kong Station. Take the orange Tung Chung Line and at the last station (Tung Chung). Then take exit C. Approx. travel time is 29 minutes and the fare for a single ticket is HK $ 21.

Fortune Ferry To/From Sha Luo Wan Pier

Fortune Ferry To/From Sha Luo Wan Pier

Fortune Ferry To/From Sha Luo Wan Pier

Fortune Ferry To/From Sha Luo Wan Pier

After arriving at the Tung Chung MTR station walk towards the Tung Chung Development Pier. The walk takes you about 10 minutes (you need to cross the Lantau Highway via the foot-bridge). Then you have basically two options to get to the Sha Lo Wan Pier. First, taking the Fortune Ferry Service and second taking one of the private water taxis. We highly recommend taking the Fortune Ferry Service since usually, most of the captains of the private water taxis can only communicate in Cantonese. The Fortune Ferry takes only 10 minutes and the Sha Lo Wan Pier is the first stop. Fare is HK$ 25 on weekdays and HK$ 30 on Sundays and Public Holidays. The ferry accepts cash and octopus.

Fortune Ferry Schedule

Fortune Ferry Schedule

The View Inside the Ferry Boat to Sha Lo Wan Pier

The View Inside the Ferry Boat to Sha Lo Wan Pier

The View Inside the Ferry Boat to Sha Lo Wan Pier

The View Inside the Ferry Boat to Sha Lo Wan Pier