每年的农历四月初八(2011年是5月10日)香港会隆重的庆祝佛诞——这个有着几百年历史,最重要的中国传统节日之一。

Bun Festival Bun Tower

几乎在同一时间,长洲——这个香港的离岛,岛上的居民会组织一系列活动,例如飘色巡游,抢包山,来纪念在清朝死于瘟疫的同胞。这个节日又称为”包山节”。每当这个时候每一个人都会买一个特制的包子来吃以祈求好运。因为包子上写着红色的”平安”两个字,所以这个包子被人们称为”平安包”。2001年,香港政府和岛民决定将庆祝活动订在和佛诞同一日。因为佛诞是香港的公众假期,这样可以让更多的人能够参与到这个节日。

Bun Festival Crowd

今天,大约3万游客齐齐聚集到长洲,来见识这里大名鼎鼎的庆祝活动。32℃的天气和炙热的阳光也阻挡不了兴奋的人群。街道两旁挤满了为了一睹飘色巡游的人们。孩子们装扮成香港特别行政区特首,香港财政司司长,著名的运动员还有一些民间传说中的人物。甚至有一幕是假扮前些时候香港发生的抢盐潮。由于日本地震后辐射泄漏,香港的居民人人自危,认为盐也会被污染,因此爆发了一段时间全体排队买盐的疯狂。

Bun Festival Lion Dance

此外,舞狮是香港活动中的传统项目,似乎大凡重要的节日或者场合,如果没有舞狮,就有些逊色。不同的舞狮队舞着各式各样不同颜色的毛狮子,将今天的飘色巡游推向另一个高潮。但是今天的压轴项目莫过于午夜时分的抢包山。传说谁能够抢到越多越高的平安包,谁的家人就会得到来年一年的好运。12个参赛者(9男3女)争先恐后的爬上14米高由竹架和包子搭成的包子山,抢夺着高处的包子。

Bun Festival Wind Chime

Bun Festival Temple

Bun Festival Temple

很可惜,这个精彩的活动只能一年一次。如果下一次你来香港的时候恰好又是农历四月初八,何不妨来长洲看看?我们向你保证那一定会是一次特别而又难忘的经历。

By |May 11th, 2011|

Leave A Comment

Every year the eighth day of the fourth Lunar month (in 2011 is 10th of May), Hong Kong will celebrate the Birthday of Buddha, one of the most important traditional Chinese festivals with hundreds years of history.

Bun Festival Bun Tower

Sidebar Banner 14 Export

Almost the same time, in Cheung Chau, a tiny and outlying island of Hong Kong, the residents will organize a series of ceremonies, including parade of floats, parade-in-the-air and bun snatching, to pray for better life and also memorize the people who died in plague in Qing dynasty. This festival is also called “Bun Festival” because everybody on this day will buy a special bun printed with Chinese characters “平安”(safe) to pray for good luck. In order to let more people join the ceremony, in 2001, Hong Kong government and the islanders decided to fix the ceremony on the same day of Buddha festival since it is the public holiday of Hong Kong.

Bun Festival Crowd

Today, over 28 thousands of people went to Cheung Chau to attend and experience a very unique day. The hot sunshine with over 32℃ couldn’t affect the excitement of tourists. Streets were flooded by people who were eager to watch the parade. Children dressed as the Chief Executive of Hong Kong, the Financial Secretary of Hong Kong, famous athletes and other characters in folk stories. One theme was ironically talking about the salt rush due to Japan radiation leakage which happened in Hong Kong.

Bun Festival Lion Dance

Besides, lion dance was another highlight in the parade. Different lion-dance teams performed great lion-dance show with different colors and styles of fluffy lions. The most exciting moment was the Bun Snatching. It is said that the person who can get the highest bun will have great luck in the following year for the whole family. 12 Competitors (9 males and 3 females) climbed up the 45-feet Lucky Bun Tower at midnight to collect as many buns as they could.

Bun Festival Wind Chime

Bun Festival Temple

Bun Festival Temple

Unfortunately, this event is just once a year. If you happen to come to Hong Kong during next Bun Festival, why not go the Cheung Chau island and have a look? We ensure you that it will be a very special and unique experience that you will not be disappointed.