天壇大佛坐落於昂坪大嶼山的木魚峰上,是香港最受歡迎的景點之一。英文中常常就簡稱為大佛(Big Buddha 或者 Giant Buddha)。天壇大佛於1993竣工,12月29日經佛家阿彌陀誕辰日開光,從此這座青銅佛便以其26.4米的高度和250公噸的重量,成為世界上第二大的坐佛。之所以稱為天壇大佛,因為大佛的底座是按照北京的天壇而設計的。如果你乘坐昂坪360纜車到訪大嶼山,那麼天壇大佛與昂坪360纜車站只有咫尺相隔。其實在乘坐昂坪360纜車的過程中,你就應該已經可以遠遠的看到山頂上的天壇大佛了。有趣的是,在天晴的能見度高的時候,你甚至可以從澳門看到天壇大佛。如果乘坐飛機抵達香港國際機場,運氣好雲不多的時候也能看到天壇大佛…【瞭解更多關於“昂坪360纜車”】]

天壇大佛的正面

天壇大佛的正面

前往昂坪市集和天壇大佛

前往昂坪市集和天壇大佛

沿著昂坪市集,你將會首先來到昂坪廣場和菩提路。天壇大佛的入口就在菩提路的盡頭。想要登上長長的階梯,你要先征服268級台階。在香港濕熱炎熱的環境下,這268級台階爬起來比想象的要艱難些。累了就停下來拍張照吧!

通往天壇大佛平台的268級台階

通往天壇大佛平台的268級台階

通往天壇大佛平台的268級台階

通往天壇大佛平台的268級台階

旅行TIPS:對於行動不便的遊客可以通過階梯旁邊的環繞上升的小路登上天壇大佛平台。在場的工作人員會向你提供熱情的幫助。

當你最終抵達天壇大佛平台,你會首先看見圍繞著天壇大佛的6個小的銅制佛像,稱為“六天母像”,分別手持花、香、燈、塗、果、樂,表達對大佛的敬意,代表著六波羅密——佈施,持戒,忍辱,精進,禪定和智慧。天壇大佛平台上可以遠眺寶蓮禪寺,以及大嶼山和遠處的南中國海。天壇大佛與眾不同的地方在於一般的佛像都是面南背北的,但是天壇大佛卻是面朝北方的。

天壇大佛平台

天壇大佛平台

圍繞著天壇大佛的六天母像

圍繞著天壇大佛的六天母像

圍繞著天壇大佛的六天母像

圍繞著天壇大佛的六天母像

天壇大佛的正面

天壇大佛的正面

天壇大佛的背面

天壇大佛的背面

天壇大佛平台上的景色

天壇大佛平台上的景色

天壇大佛下的三層祭壇其實內部是一個三層的展覽廳,分為:功德堂,法界堂和紀念堂。裡面展示著各種珍貴的佛教文物,例如舍利子,華嚴說發圖,地藏王菩薩木雕像等。可以購買門票入內參觀。如果你購買寶蓮禪寺齋菜館的餐劵(一般為港幣$ 60-100),就可以免費入內參觀。請留意展覽廳內是不允許拍照的。

參觀天壇大佛和寶蓮禪寺都是免費的,開放時間為每日上午10點至下午5點30分

如何前往天壇大佛:

前往天壇大佛最方便的方式:

前往大嶼山昂坪(昂坪360纜車站或者巴士總站):

-乘坐港鐵:乘坐港鐵前往東湧站,B出口出站,,跟循著纜車站的標識步行2-3分鐘便可達昂坪360纜車站

-從香港國際機場出發:

乘坐機場快線前往青衣站(單程車票為港幣$ 60/行程約為12分鐘)。從青衣站轉乘東湧線前往東湧站)

-從中國內地出發(羅湖/落馬洲):

乘坐東鐵線前往九龍塘,轉乘地鐵至東湧站,B出口出站。跟循著纜車站的標識步行2-3分鐘便可達昂坪360纜車站

或者乘坐東鐵線前往上水站。D1出口出站之後前往巴士總站。轉乘巴士279X前往青衣站。在青衣站轉乘港鐵東湧線至終點站東湧

前往天壇大佛和昂坪市集,昂坪廣場:

在你抵達大嶼山/東湧之後,你可以選擇以下方式登上大嶼山前往天壇大佛和昂坪市集:

-乘坐昂坪360纜車

請參考文章《昂坪360纜車》瞭解具體乘坐360纜車前往天壇大佛的具體信息;

-乘坐新大嶼山巴士23路

在東湧市中心站乘坐新大嶼山巴士23路(空調巴士)前往昂坪站。行程大約50分鐘(21公里)。週一至週五的成人票價為港幣$ 17,週末和節假日的成人票價為港幣$ 27。乘坐新大嶼山巴士較乘坐昂坪360纜車更經濟,當昂坪360纜車故障或者檢修時,也是最好的方式。但是由於行程時間也比較長,而且多為山路,如果你趕時間,或者暈車,就不要考慮了。

新大嶼山巴士23路的官方網站:: http://www.newlantaobus.com/road_23.htm

-乘坐出租車

有時候昂坪360纜車和新大嶼山巴士站會有很多人排隊,這時候出租車是個不錯的選擇。乘坐出租車從東湧前往天壇大佛大約需時20-25分鐘,車費為港幣$ 180-200

全部香港人氣旅遊景點

天壇大佛和周邊景點的地圖和具體地址:

The Big Buddha or Giant Buddha is located on Ngong Ping Lantau Island as one of the top sightseeing attractions in Hong Kong and the Chinese name should be “Tian Tan Buddha”. The bronze Big Buddha statue is completed in 1993 since when with its 34m (112 ft) height and 250 metric tons, Big Buddha becomes the second-largest outdoor sitting Buddha in the world (the biggest one is in Taiwan). The Big Buddha can easily be reached on foot within a few minutes walk from the Ngong Ping 360 Cable Car Terminus. In case you took the Ngong Ping 360 Cable Car you should have seen this impressive Big Buddha statue along your scenic cable car ride or when you exited the terminus. Interestingly, the Big Buddha is even visible from Macau on a clear day and in case you arrive in the morning or early afternoon by plane you might have a chance to spot him from your window seat as well [Read more about “Ngong Ping 360 Cable Car”]

Front of Big Buddha

Front of Big Buddha on Lantau Island

Get To Nong Ping Village

Get To Nong Ping Village and Big Buddha

Following the way through Ngong Ping Village will lead you to the Ngong Ping Piazza and the Bodhi Path. At the end of the Bodhi Path you can already spot the entrance of Big Buddha and the countless steps leading up to the Big Buddha platform. If you are brave enough you can climb the 268 steps to reach to the platform (which we highly recommend), but don’t underestimate the climb. Especially on hot and humid days you should take your time climbing up and a good excuse for a stop or break is to take some amazing pictures of the Big Buddha statue.

268 Steps to the Big Buddha Platform

268 Steps to the Big Buddha Platform

268 Steps to the Big Buddha Platform

268 Steps to the Big Buddha Platform

Insider Tips: Good news for all of you who are handicapped: there is a small and winding road to access the platform as well too. Just ask some staff members and they will assist you.

When you arrive on the platform of the Big Buddha and catch your breath, you will notice an additional six smaller bronze statues facing the Giant Buddha. The six smaller bronze statues are known as “The Offering of the Six Devas” and surround the Big Buddha. Each of the smaller statue knee in front of the Big Buddha and offer him flowers, fruits, incense, music, ointment or light (lamp). As you probably already have guessed, each of the offering is a symbol and represents patience, morality, wisdom, charity, zeal and meditation. Take your time and walk around the platform of the Big Buddha and admire his serene, calm, dignity and charisma. The tranquil atmosphere paired with the amazing and beautiful views of Lantau Island will transform you in a calm and relaxed setting and should definitely not be missed. Last but not least, we would like to share an interesting and unique fact about the Big Buddha. Did you notice that the Giant Buddha faces north? It’s actually very unique. Usually, Buddha statues face south.

Big Buddha Platform

Big Buddha Platform

Bronze Statues Around Big Buddha

Bronze Statues Around Big Buddha-The Offering of the Six Devas

Bronze Statues Around Big Buddha

Bronze Statues Around Big Buddha-The Offering of the Six Devas

The Front of Big Buddha

The Front of Big Buddha

The Back of Big Buddha

The Back of Big Buddha

View from Big Buddha Platform

View from Big Buddha Platform

For all of you who wonder what is inside the Big Buddha. Inside or rather beneath the Big Buddha are actually three floors which can be accessed. The three floors are better known under the name “The Hall of Universe”, “The Hall of Benevolent Merit” and “The Hall of Remembrance”. In case you are interested in Buddhism, it might be worthwhile to have a look since there is a relic of the Gautama Buddha inside. For all others, it is not really worthwhile to go inside. In case you are interested, you have to purchase some meal tickets from the Po Lin Monastery which will gain you access (Meal tickets range about HK$ 65 – 100). Please note that you are not allowed to take pictures inside the three Halls beneath the Big Buddha.

Access to the Big Buddha and the Po Lin Monastery is free of charge and open to the public daily from 10:00 am – 5:30 pm.

Sidebar Banner 14 Export

How to Get to the Big Buddha:

Here are most efficient ways to get Big Buddha:

Get to Ngong Ping Lantau Island (Ngong Ping 360 Cable Car Terminus or Bus Terminus):

-By MTR: Take MTR and transfer to Tung Chung Line. Get off at Tung Chung station and take Exit B. Follow the signs and walk about 2-3 minutes to the Cable Car counter.

-From the Airport:

Take the MTR Airport Express Train to Tsing Yi Station (fare HK$ 60 single journey / approx. 12 minutes ride). Then change in Tsing Yi Station to Tung Chung Line and get off at Tung Chung station.

-From Mainland China (Lo Wu/Lok Ma Chau):

Take the MTR East Rail Line to Kowloon Tong (approx. 37 minutes ride). Then transfer to subway to Tung Chung station and take the Exit B. Follow the signs and walk about 2-3 minutes to the Cable Car counter.

Alternatively, you can take the MTR East Rail Line to Sheung Shui (just one stop/ approx. 7 minutes/fare about HK$ 20). Take exit D1 and walk towards the bus stops. Then take Bus 279X to Tsing Yi MTR station. At the Tsing Yi Station change to the orange MTR Tung Chung Line (about HK$ 15) and stay till the last station.

Get to Big Buddha and Ngong Ping Village:

After you get to Lantau Island, you can choose the following ways to get up to Big Buddha and Ngong Ping Village:

-By Ngong Ping 360 Cable Car

For details about how to get up to Big Buddha by cable car, please refer to the article”Ngong Ping 360 Cable Car“.

-By New Lantau Bus No.23

The New Lantau Bus No.23 (air-conditioned bus) starts from Tung Chung Town Center to Ngong Ping Road. The ride is about 21 kilometers and takes around 50 minutes. Adult ticket price from Mon-Fri is approx. HK$ 17 and on weekends and holidays is approx. HK$ 27. Taking New Lantau Bus No.23 is an economic way of getting to Big Buddha as well as an alternative when Ngong Ping 360 Cable Car is broken or under maintenance. However, it takes longer time and is not suitable for those who have bus-sick.

Official Site of New Lantau Bus No.23: http://www.newlantaobus.com/road_23.htm

-By Taxi

If there are too many people waiting for either the Ngong Ping 360 Cable Car or the New Lantau Bus, you also can consider hiring a taxi. Taking taxi to Big Buddha takes about 20-25 minutes and costs around HK$ 200.

More Top Attractions in Hong Kong

Map and Locations of Big Buddha and surrounding attractions: