2011年3月26日晚上8:30(香港時間),香港的商業大廈,政府大樓,所有大學,超過150所學校以及個人拔掉了平時一直開著的電源,回應由環保團體世界自然基金會發起的“地球一小時”熄燈活動。此次活動有全球超過120個國家支持和參加,希望能夠喚起人類對於保護地球,減少能耗的重視。

Convention Center after Lights out Earth Day 2011

Convention Center Earth Day 2011

這一晚,每晚例行的“幻彩詠香江”也停了,但是你卻能體驗在維港難得體驗的“黑暗”一刻。香港作為不夜城,夜景的燈光和裝飾聞名於世。在香港,黑暗的寧靜反而成為比較難見的景象。更不用說在高樓林立的維多利亞港。中銀大廈,國際金融中心(IFC),滙豐銀行大樓等等地標都在那一夜熄了燈。連大廈頂樓一年四季長明的大型看板也熄滅了。

很可惜,今年的3月26日香港天氣多雲,天文愛好者不能像去年一樣拿出他們的望遠裝備看看那久違的星空(香港光污染太嚴重,平時看不到星星)。但是維港兩岸還是聚集了不少人群,一齊來感受這樣一個奇妙的夜晚。

如果你很遺憾沒有親身經歷,可以看看下面這個視頻,記錄著香港的建築在熄燈那一刻的情形:

On Saturday March 26, 2011 at 8:30 pm local time Hong Kong businesses, government buildings, all universities, over 150 schools as well as individuals voluntarily unplugged their lights and advertising boards for 60 minutes to set a sign to reduce energy consumption. The Earth Hour movement spanned more than 120 countries around the world and was initiated by the WWF to draw attention to the rapid climate change as well as the waste of energy.

Convention Center after Lights out Earth Day 2011

Sidebar Banner 14 Export

Convention Center Earth Day 2011

Although the famous Symphony of Lights show had been suspended that night for the annual Earth Hour event of the WWF, for visitors it was still a one-of-a-kind experience. Only at that night Victoria Harbor was almost completely dark and visitors could feel and experience a different Hong Kong. Buildings like the Bank of China, the two IFC Towers, the Convention Center in Wan Chai and several other iconic landmarks switched off their lights and gave a special feeling to spectators not only at Victoria Harbor.

Unfortunately, the sky was quite cloudy that night and astronomy fans didn’t get their chance to unpack their telescopes, but for photographers as well as videographers it was some kind of happening and many people tried to take pictures before and after the lights out.

For all of you who couldn’t share this moment or want to take a look again – here is one of the many youtube videos: